THE CONSTITUTION AND THE LEGAL SYSTEM

Civil litigation. The lawyers in this section are responsible for the conduct of the non-criminal litigation involving the Government of Canada originating in those provinces where the common law prevails. This litigation includes customs and excise tax matters, expropriation cases, disputes over contracts, accident claims, suits for defamation and claims for breach of copyright.

Constitutional law. This section is responsible for co-ordinating the advisory work of the Department in the field of constitutional law. It is also concerned with long-term policy in constitutional affairs and with problems of federal-provincial relations.

Criminal law. The lawyers in this section participate in criminal litigation in every jurisdiction. They work in co-operation with members of the Department's six regional offices in the prosecution of violations of federal statutes and regulations and are involved in the extradition of persons to and from Canada. An additional and very important function is the work on criminal law amendment which involves considering and assessing the suggestions for the amendment of the criminal code and certain other statutes received from many sources. The section advises the Minister of Justice with respect to these recommendations.

Jurimetrics. This section has responsibility for work and research involving the use of the computer in legal research and in solving legal problems. Its personnel co-operate with the other departmental sections in computer-assisted programs and activities.

Legal research and planning handles matters involving the law in federal areas which do not seem to fit into the work traditionally handled by the other sections in the Department. The legal work on privacy, and research into the question of a federal human rights commission were carried out in this section.

Legislation. The work of this section is concerned with the preparation of legislation from the time a topic is given approval in principle by Cabinet until the resulting enactment receives Royal Assent. The periodic revisions of the *Statutes of Canada* are also compiled here as are the office consolidations of certain acts which are prepared in the periods between major revisions.

Privy Council. This section is responsible for the examination of what is sometimes called subordinate legislation. From time to time Parliament delegates certain legislative functions to other bodies and officials and it is the responsibility of this section to consult with the Clerk of the Privy Council in order to maintain general supervision over the legislative product resulting from this delegation and to consider whether it is within the authority conferred by Parliament (see Statutory Instruments Act, 1970-71, c.38). The section is asked to assume responsibility for the actual drafting of certain subordinate legislation. Lawyers in this section also act as legal advisers to the Clerk of the Privy Council and his staff.

The property and commercial law section handles all the work involved when land is required for public purposes.

Tax litigation. The lawyers in this section represent the Crown in all aspects of most federal tax litigation. The section has also an advisory function on tax matters with the Department of National Revenue.

Central Divorce Registry. This Registry was established with the enactment of the 1968 Divorce Act. All divorces and petitions for divorce are recorded.

Regional and departmental services section looks after the staffing and other needs of the six regional offices and of the departmental offices where lawyers from the Department of Justice are assigned. There are legal officers from the Department of Justice in almost all of the government departments and agencies in Ottawa.

A booklet entitled *Department of Justice*, describing in detail the work of the sections, is available free upon request to the Department. It was written for recruitment purposes in 1972 and most of the information in it is still current.

2.7 Police forces

2.7.1 Organization of police forces

The police forces of Canada are organized in three groups: (1) the federal force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; (2) provincial police forces – Ontario and Quebec have